Foreign Landscapes


1. Alexanderplatz
2. Iron Shoes
3. Mount Hood
4. Madeira
5. Union Square
6. Snow
7. Early In The Park
8. Kamogawa
9. Children
10. Sunny Mission
11. Kouseiji
12. Trost


Label: FatCat
Format: CD, Promo
Released: 25th October 2010

Hauschka’s striking third album for FatCat’s 130701 imprint sees the pianist / composer making ambitious advances on his critically-acclaimed previous work. Stepping out from his established niche as a gifted and engaging ‘prepared piano’ player, he boldly extends his repertoire, resetting his music within a rich orchestral score. Nine of the album’s twelve tracks feature a 12-piece string and wind ensemble from San Francisco’s Magik*Magik Orchestra, alongside Volker Bertelmann’s own prepared piano.